top of page

Nature encircles me, she speaks visually...


Drawing of materiality & space project

For my materiality & space semester project, I chose two verbs: To encircle of nature. I started by drawing an axonometric, aiming and struggling to define a form that was not literal. I continued by experimenting with different methods of defining form and attachment. At one point, something magical happened and I realized I was encircling nature by deconstructing the tree ring and reconstructing it to encircle negative space (air).

This has probably been one of the most special moments throughout my process, where my hands and the material love each other by natural instinct. Although I was encircling nature, the material's relationship with light was not successful yet, so I used compressed fabric laundry sheets that would on one hand texturize the light reflected and on the other hand, offer a floral experience for the nose as well.

This is a small-scale 20' x 20' wall that would be placed on a space for meditation and rediscovery of nature.

Camilo is a queer latino artist from Bogotá, Colombia, who feels both responsible and passionate about making art that gives visibility to the oppressed. He intends to awaken moral resistance from vivid images of physical resistance. You can view more of his work at www.zencraftbycamilo.com.

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page